1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

-COMPUTER QUESTION- ***help***

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by T=E=A=S=E, Apr 11, 2004.

  1. T=E=A=S=E

    T=E=A=S=E 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,271

    -COMPUTER QUESTION- ***help***

    Discussion started by T=E=A=S=E - Apr 11, 2004

    hey yall, first off, happy easter and all that jive...

    my computers getting a lil slow, not anything unbearable by anymeans, but you know... im impatient like that.

    so i got a 40 gig hard drive right now right, and its like 98% full or more (because i burn my cd's on the computer)...

    so i was going to get like a 120 gig, or more for just my music... and clear up some space in the 40 giger...

    i dont have much porn at all, just the occasional video that really toots my horn, hahaha, and graffiti piks an shit, no games, etc...

    so with the new hard drive, that should get my computer back to being super fast again right?

    i have like 512 ddr ram right now, but i was going to get another stick or two if i needed it...

    whats the deal, will the hard drive solve both those problems? or do i need some more memory to?

    thanks
     
    T=E=A=S=E - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,271
    - Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
  2. adderall

    adderall 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,921

    adderall - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    the hard drive isnt going to make your computer any faster - its only going to increase your storage capabilities.

    try defragmenting your current drive. you could be experiencing a slow-down due to the state of your operating system; delete temporary files, purge your Start-Up folder of programs that do not need to be running, generally ensure you dont have applications taking up large amounts of memory without your consent (consult your task manager [ctrl + alt + delete in windows]). if you want a real speed increase, save your money, get a newer motherboard and a faster processor, get some faster ram, etc. a hard drive shouldnt make much of a difference unless youre upgrading to a SATA or SCSI from an IDE.
     
    adderall - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,921
    - Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
  3. effyoo

    effyoo 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    4,703

    effyoo - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    do you regularly clean up your spyware, perform a disk cleanup, as well as de-frag your hard drive?

    *edit - yeah, what he said ^^
     
    effyoo - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    4,703
    - Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
  4. GnomeToys

    GnomeToys 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,616

    GnomeToys - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    He might not be able to defrag if he's at 98% full on the drive.
     
    GnomeToys - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,616
    - Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
  5. adderall

    adderall 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,921

    adderall - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    thats correct, points for the knowledge
     
    adderall - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,921
    - Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
  6. Ferris Bueller

    Ferris Bueller 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    4,246

    Ferris Bueller - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    You might have some bullshit running in your systray and in the background that you don't know of. Try Ad-Aware to rid your pathetic machine of spyware, if any. Just run it for good measure. Other than that, adding on some more RAM might just help. Prices on DDR memory, depending on frequency, are not all that bad right now. You just have to look in the right places.
     
    Ferris Bueller - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    4,246
    - Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
  7. T=E=A=S=E

    T=E=A=S=E 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,271

    T=E=A=S=E - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    thanks for the responses so far, however:

    ummmm i dont know much of what i can or cant delete, as far as those running windows and shit are in the control alt delete window are...

    im worried about deleting something important and fucking up my shit.

    as far as getting a new mother board and all that shit, i dont need that, i built my comp like a little less than a year ago, and its still really fast and everything, but id just like it to pull shit up faster than it already does, keep it up to par and all... so i guess i need both the memory and harddrive.

    how can i delete that spyware shit? im not sure if i got it even, but i just got back home from my uncles, and he had gotten it on one of his comps, and they said the only way to remove it was to erase the harddrive and reformat it, which isnt an option for me...

    but like i said, i dont think i have that problem...

    but what kind of big programs or whatever might be running without my knowledge?

    all i do online pretty much is, look at 12oz, porn, graffiti sites, and talk on aim... :D
     
    T=E=A=S=E - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,271
    - Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
  8. GnomeToys

    GnomeToys 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,616

    GnomeToys - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    If you're running Win2k or XP you won't be able to kill anything critical anyway, but if you post what's showing up in your task list I'll try to look at it and help you.

    Adaware will remove most of the spyware out there. You might try a virus scanner too.

    Getting a new drive and moving all non-program / non-operating system files to it might help speeds quite a bit, then you'll be able to defragment. For now you could try backing up a couple gigs of your porn/MP3s/movies to CD and seeing if that gives you enough space to run a defrag. I seem to remember reading about NTFS having problems when the drive approached full, that could be part of the speed problem too.
     
    GnomeToys - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,616
    - Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
  9. T=E=A=S=E

    T=E=A=S=E 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,271

    T=E=A=S=E - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    say GNOMES-

    i just tried to bring up the list of apps running... and i think i changed the settings or some bullshit awhile back, the list wont even fucking pop up anymore... its this instead:

    http://img3.photobucket.com/albums/v12/fuckfuckfuck/fuck.jpg'>

    ps- im running windows XP.
     
    T=E=A=S=E - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,271
    - Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
  10. GnomeToys

    GnomeToys 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,616

    GnomeToys - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    Move your cursor to the blank area slightly to the left of the disconnect button (or anywhere in the border area) and double click.
     
    GnomeToys - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,616
    - Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
  11. T=E=A=S=E

    T=E=A=S=E 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,271

    T=E=A=S=E - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    thanks man! couldnt figure that shit out for shit...

    http://img3.photobucket.com/albums/v12/fuckfuckfuck/fuck2.jpg'>

    those are the apps and processes going on right now...
     
    T=E=A=S=E - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,271
    - Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
  12. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    kind of related

    hey gnometoys, do you know much about the windows host processes? what exactly do they do? also, why doesn't windows just give whatever the process is hosting its own process, instead of a host one?
     
    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  13. LaCosaNostra

    LaCosaNostra 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,191

    LaCosaNostra - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    So, Matt.....


    hehehehe
     
    LaCosaNostra - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    2,191
    - Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
  14. LaCosaNostra

    LaCosaNostra 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,191

    LaCosaNostra - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    but on a serious note, when istart my computer i routinely end around 10-15 processes;)
     
    LaCosaNostra - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    2,191
    - Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
  15. GnomeToys

    GnomeToys 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,616

    GnomeToys - Replied Apr 11, 2004

    DW.exe could be either Dr. Watson or DownloadWare... either way:


    SOUNDMAN.exe is optional.

    I really don't see anything else that could be a problem, I suggest ad-aware as others have, and some defragging.
     
    GnomeToys - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,616
    - Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003