401k Help/Question

WorldBench

I've been putting in at minimum 150$ a month in my 401k for 3 years (for 1 year it was like 300$)

12*3 = 36 * 150 = 5400

i called my 401k place a few months ago, they said there was only 3300$ in it.

this 401k said they'd match what you put in it. so how is it at 3300$ a few months ago when it should be roughly 5400$ at minimum. in all actuality it should be somewhere like 7000$ with just my money.

anyone know how these work exactly?

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

Factor in inflation~ biggest factor in long term growth

-

as for what happened to the money,

I'd one, track off of my chits and receipts for payments..

and ask for printed accounting of your contributions.. and statement history.

two, contact the employer who said they'd be matching or 50%ing..

make sure they did'nt agree this to another 401k..

and three.. make sure that this is the only 401k that you have.. many times people forget about these things or never realize that they've switched or opened a new one when changing employers~ I've had clients who've "found" ridiculous amounts of unexpected money this way~

Definately get all of your paperwork together

and make demands.. if you don't hear whats right don't be afraid to show (or exagerate) your frustration.. There is a whole pyramid system at the call centres of these companies.. some one will eventually help you get what you want.. And if not the first try.. hang up and call back~

There must be something wrong, unless that is, this 401k was all fixed income or CMO's.. based on mortgages or horrid stocks.. but to lose 50% is a long shot, even with things as they are~ something's missing~

good luck

It's a great thing any which way you look at it~

Even if you're not "working".. an IRA is a must~