1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

COMPUTER QUESTION

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by bemflix, May 17, 2002.

  1. bemflix

    bemflix 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    2,384

    COMPUTER QUESTION

    Discussion started by bemflix - May 17, 2002

    i'm a retard when it comes to computers. i was wondering if someone could me out.
    I work on a PC........... Everyone says how great macs are. and after speaking to someone i trust i went out and bought a mac.
    i will be using my mac for video editing and graffix. and the pc for web related things..

    here is my question: can i network the two so i can use the graffix i make on the mac for websites i'll be making with the pc????

    c'mon 12oz people help a mildly retarded brother out

    bem
     
    bemflix - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    2,384
    - Joined:
    May 19, 2001
  2. nipples-galore

    nipples-galore 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,567

    nipples-galore - Replied May 17, 2002

    yes, you need a router (im pretty sure thats what its called....it costs like around $70.00 or so for a basic router) to network the computers together.....the router will let make the 2 computers act like one...you'll be able to share all your files. A simlper way to link the 2 comps might be just to use PC Zip disks (macs can read both PC & Mac Zips, but PCs can only read PC Zips).

    umm, somebody help me out if I gave any incorrect info.
     
    nipples-galore - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,567
    - Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
  3. bumdigger

    bumdigger 12oz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    297

    bumdigger - Replied May 17, 2002

    it's not that easy. not at all!
     
    bumdigger - Rank: 12oz Member - Messages:
    297
    - Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
  4. bodice_ripper

    bodice_ripper 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2000
    Messages:
    3,196

    bodice_ripper - Replied May 17, 2002

    [​IMG]
     
    bodice_ripper - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,196
    - Joined:
    May 10, 2000
  5. misteraven

    misteraven Administrator

    Joined:
    May 7, 1999
    Messages:
    8,668

    misteraven - Replied May 17, 2002

    No you dont need a router. A router is made to traffic data to and from individual (generally internal and external) networks. What you need is an ethernet hub, unless you plan to also have both computers online at the same time, which you didnt mention (if so look into a Cable/DSL router like the ones by Linksys or Netgear which also have 4 and 8 port ehternet hubs built in). Macs pretty much all have Network cards, but you'll have to double check the PC. It'll also probably require some networking software to set up a cross platform peer to peer network (a task far easier if you had a third computer to act as a server), or you can try and figure out personal web sharing and do it all via TCP/IP and circumvent all the bullshit. All in all it's a pretty tall order and with little experience, your going to have a hell of a time.

    I'd suggest doing what the other person said... Buy a zip drive for each of the computers and swap information via discs. A CDRW burner is another good solution since the dics you make can be transferred to virtually any computer without having to drag your zip drive around. You should be able to pick up either fairly easily and cheaply on www.ebay.com.
     
    misteraven - Rank: Administrator - Messages:
    8,668
    - Joined:
    May 7, 1999
  6. B_As_In_Bot

    B_As_In_Bot 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Messages:
    3,840

    B_As_In_Bot - Replied May 17, 2002

    everyone, huh? Macs are dogshit.
     
    B_As_In_Bot - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,840
    - Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
  7. OMARNYCAKASW1

    OMARNYCAKASW1 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,385

    OMARNYCAKASW1 - Replied May 17, 2002

    install netbui as a protocol on both machines

    tcp/ip has nothing to do with connecting a mac & a pc
     
    OMARNYCAKASW1 - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,385
    - Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
  8. Kr430n5_666

    Kr430n5_666 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,229

    Kr430n5_666 - Replied May 17, 2002

    [​IMG]
     
    Kr430n5_666 - Rank: Banned - Messages:
    19,229
    - Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
  9. sectorTVA

    sectorTVA 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2000
    Messages:
    1,272

    sectorTVA - Replied May 17, 2002

    the protocol really doesnt matter...you can install any protocol, and as long as the other computer has the same protocol they should be able to share data. raven has it down to the science, but in all respects, i find that networking computers is cake if you know what youre doing...of course if you have an NT server it gets a little more complicated, but chances are you dont run NT and dont have a seperate machine to serve as a server...you can network across platforms, but i tend to only work with networking PC's....its much easier with just one type of system...it is possible to share data between macs and pcs through a network though,for your info...but you have to be sure the data youre going to use is cross compatible between platforms...for standard purposes most common files used for multimedia purposes are cross campatible, but if you wanted to run tar files off linux/unix systems on a pc or mac thats a different story....to network two computers you will need: a 10/100baset hub with enough ports to host as many connections/computers as you need, and each computer on the network will need to have a 10/100baset ethernet card...i wouldnt worry about the 10/100 baset, it just a number that describes how fast data is transfered across the network, and most cards and hubs now adays support both 10baset and 100baset connections....a router will be needed if you want to share a broadband connection between any of the computers you decide to put on the network...with windows machines you simply install the net card, load the drivers, and go into your network properties under control panel...in there you will have to install tcp/ip protocol, which is included with windows. do this to all of your windows 95/98/me machines. i find it easier with windows xp because it is all plug and play, you dont have to tool with any settings, at least i didnt have to. connect a cat5 ethernet cable with an rj-45 connector to your netcard on all your computers that you are planning to network and plug them into your hub afterwards. if you are using a router plug it in the last port of your hub...i use a linksys hub and router so the hub has a special port just for the router...plug your cable/dsl modem into the wan port of your router...as far as setting up a router, that varies from brand to brand, and the settings in your router depends on your bsp, i luckly dont have to tinker too much with my router since it automaticly detects the internet connection and retrieves the ip address for me...with other routers and bsps you may have to input certain values into your routers memory so it will be able to send and recieve data through your broadband connection. i dont know shit about macs....so i cant help you there....i used to volunteer in a hospital with their computer department and they taught me all this shit about networks and computer repair...basic networking is not hard at all, pick up a dummies book and read it if you gotta, larger networks are a bit more complicated, but you probably wont have to worry about that since youre only planning to network 2 computers...i dont really know anything about networking across differnt platforms though, i mostly work with windows machines...you might need to install different protocols if networking across platforms, however in the hospital they simply installed the tcp/ip protocol, but note they did have 6 or 7 computers running nt and acting as servers for the entire network...it would probably much easier to just go with the zip disk...i used to use my network alot to share data between my two machines, and to share a printer, but i got two printers now, and i mainly work on just one system now, so all i really use the network for is sharing a broadband connection...networks arent really great for home use other than to share a broadband connection and printer....infact the main purpose for the hospital's network was to share their t3 connection and to share printers and to access their email servers which happened to be sun systems, using telnet....
     
    sectorTVA - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,272
    - Joined:
    Jul 8, 2000
  10. hulk hogan

    hulk hogan 12oz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    648

    hulk hogan - Replied May 17, 2002

    ^^^^^^^^


    eyes burning...
     
    hulk hogan - Rank: 12oz Member - Messages:
    648
    - Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
  11. rip

    rip 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,667

    rip - Replied May 17, 2002

    i believe u use the tcip thing for the transfer of files from the mac to the pc. if u bought a g4 mac for graffix. if u didnt then your assed out.
     
    rip - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,667
    - Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
  12. ASER1NE

    ASER1NE 12oz Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    7,577

    ASER1NE - Replied May 17, 2002

    Re: Re: COMPUTER QUESTION

    Just what i was thinking
     
    ASER1NE - Rank: 12oz Veteran Member - Messages:
    7,577
    - Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
  13. bemflix

    bemflix 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    2,384

    bemflix - Replied May 18, 2002

    damn thanks guys for all the feed back

    i actually got the imac with a g4 processor
    shit is bangin i must say. i think i'm gonna do the zip drive idea. it seems the cheapest way to go.
    again thanks fellas
    bem
     
    bemflix - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    2,384
    - Joined:
    May 19, 2001