1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

Computer help

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by the_gooch, Apr 26, 2005.

  1. the_gooch

    the_gooch 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    11,566

    Computer help

    Discussion started by the_gooch - Apr 26, 2005

    I need some help, my pc (running windows xp) randomly keeps rebooting for no reason. I’m not running any programs other than firefox. Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    the_gooch - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    11,566
    - Joined:
    May 15, 2002
  2. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    10,259

    Poop Man Bob - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    That'd be a virus.

    Run a virus check, assuming you have anti-virus software.

    If you need some "free" software, try below. List prepared for me by Glik.

     
    Poop Man Bob - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    10,259
    - Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
  3. the_gooch

    the_gooch 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    11,566

    the_gooch - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    yeah i did, that was my obvious first choice. i have kaspersky, nothing is coming up. that's why it is odd.
     
    the_gooch - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    11,566
    - Joined:
    May 15, 2002
  4. GREENOJOS

    GREENOJOS 12oz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    426

    GREENOJOS - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    you're fucked dude. i had to deal with that crap awhile back, i eventually gave up, backed up most of the important files on my computer i wanted so salvage and then erased the o/s and started all over. fucking weirdo viruses from out of nowhere.
     
    GREENOJOS - Rank: 12oz Member - Messages:
    426
    - Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
  5. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    does it give you a message before it restarts, or instantly restart like when you unplug it and plug it back in
     
    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  6. fatalist

    fatalist Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    6,354

    fatalist - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    yep, samething happen here!
     
    fatalist - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    6,354
    - Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
  7. <KEY3>

    <KEY3> 12oz Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    6,878

    <KEY3> - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    [​IMG]

    'dude...... you'se fucked and I didn't even graduate.'
     
    <KEY3> - Rank: 12oz Veteran Member - Messages:
    6,878
    - Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
  8. Dirty_habiT

    Dirty_habiT Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    18,056

    Dirty_habiT - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    some virus's are made to break your AV softs.... so it's almost a good idea to have more than one running at once.... BUT, alot of them won't run on the same machine, they cause conflicts and serious resource hogging. A good thing to do is maybe uninstall your virus software and install a different brand, or you can try an online scan...

    http://www.symantec.com/cgi-bin/securitycheck.cgi

    if you can rid yourself of known viruses, also scan your system for adware, because alot of times if you can get adware, you're also vulnerable to some online viruses that will infect you simply from the viewing of an http page.... another thing, IE is inherently attacked and vulnerable to viruses. Virus writers target this browser specifically alot of times, so using it is a bad idea, and I always recommend against it to anyone that I talk with about computers.

    Another thing, update your system with windows update, this is the only thing that I use IE for, seeing as how you can't do it with fire fox. The more up to date you OS and virus software is the safer you are.

    Lastly, the best thing you can have if you have a broadband connection... a router, properly configured. This will allow you to block outgoing ports, so even if you have a virus/trojan on your computer that's gonna try to send packets on weird ports containing your personal info, it will block it at the router.... also the router will block incoming packets and malformed packets used to infect or crash you system. I hope this helps.
     
    Dirty_habiT - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    18,056
    - Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
  9. GREENOJOS

    GREENOJOS 12oz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    426

    GREENOJOS - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    could you elaborate on how some of those settings should be applied when using the router?
     
    GREENOJOS - Rank: 12oz Member - Messages:
    426
    - Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
  10. Dirty_habiT

    Dirty_habiT Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    18,056

    Dirty_habiT - Replied Apr 26, 2005

    It's too much to go into here, but it's really easy to look up on the internet.... if you purchased a router that has a web based configuration screen (ie. most of them).... they are pretty helpful with the comments on each field you need to fill out... as far as blocking ports goes, it's a good general rule to block every port except 80 (http).... and then as you add programs like emule, IRC, FTP, and games like halflife (27015).... you unblock those ports at the router, so only the ports YOU use will be available.... if you leave yourself wide open, for example by plugging your network card directly into your cable modem/dsl... you're asking for trouble. You want to have a router and/or a firewall inbetween you and the WAN. Alot of good routers also act as firewalls.... and they aren't too expensive either. YOu can spend about $100 and get a more than adequate 8 port router at your local frye's or comp usa.
     
    Dirty_habiT - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    18,056
    - Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
  11. GnomeToys

    GnomeToys 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,616

    GnomeToys - Replied Apr 27, 2005

    Guys, I wouldn't assume that random reboots are absolutely a virus. It could be caused by failing RAM or CPU, bad hardware drivers, and various other things that have nothing to do with the viruses.

    What are the specs of your PC other than Windows XP ?

    Are you using a soundblaster Live or an nVidia video card? Both of those companies occasionally come out with driver versions crappy enough to cause random reboots.
     
    GnomeToys - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,616
    - Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
  12. tsuifuku

    tsuifuku 12oz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    204

    tsuifuku - Replied Apr 27, 2005

    yeah, i've had this problem before, fixed with new motherboard drivers.
     
    tsuifuku - Rank: 12oz Junior Member - Messages:
    204
    - Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
  13. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied Apr 27, 2005

    yeah my computer does that occaisonally, it suddenly restarts for a few hours because of a problem with the drivers for my video hardware, the weird thing is, i've had the same drivers and hardware since i got my computer in 2002, but the problem started happening last summer.
     
    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  14. drsev

    drsev 12oz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    113

    drsev - Replied Apr 27, 2005

    Check the eventlogs on your PC..

    Start > Run > Type: eventvwr Press enter.

    This will load a list of all the errors your system has encountered recently.

    see if their's any errors in there that were produced around the time your computer rebooted.. This will give you an idea as to what the problem is.
     
    drsev - Rank: 12oz Junior Member - Messages:
    113
    - Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
  15. imported_b0b

    imported_b0b Guest

    imported_b0b - Replied Apr 27, 2005

    I'm not sure where this is in XP, but in Win2000 go to Start -> Control Panel-> System->Advanced->Start up & Recovery then make sure that Automatic Rebbot is UNTICKED. When the pc crashes you'll get a blue screen telling what caused the crash.