1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

Need Computer Expert Help

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by Tough Love, May 27, 2005.

  1. Tough Love

    Tough Love 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,894

    Need Computer Expert Help

    Discussion started by Tough Love - May 27, 2005

    okay....ill give you all a run down of the course of events that have lead up to the point where i am now.

    Last night I was working on something in Photoshop, and as I go to save, this message box pops up, saying something to the likes of "please save your work, this is a NT AUTHORIZED system shutdown, your computer will shut down in " and there was a count down. And sure enough, it shut down and restarted. this happened two times last night. During the second time, i tried running a virus scan as the pop up was counting down, but it said "norton antivirus is corrupt, please reinstall".

    after the second shut down, everything was running decent, and no more message boxes popped up. the only thing i noticed was that after a while of using the computer, at least while it was connected to the net, i could not seem to open anything unless i went to "start>programs etc".....like for example, id click my desktop short cuts, and there would just be that timer thing for a mouse, and a little while after it would stop and nothing would open.

    today, im having that same problem mentioned above. After a while of using the computer, i can't open anything anymore. right now i can, but say after an hour or so, nothing will open from my desktop. some things do open from using start and whatever, but i cant open internet explorer. i cant even right click on my desktop and get the properties drop down dealy.

    now i dont have any clue whats going on. the night the system shutdown counter box came up,i was able to run a virus scan after thigns settled down and it ran fine. there was no viruses detected. the day before yesterday everything was working fine. even yesterday morning and afternoon, things were fine.


    the only other thing that may have fucked my computer over is that there was a power outage yesterday, but my comp was turned off during it, so i dont know how that couldve done anything,....

    anyways, any sort of help would be greatly appreiciated...sorry its so wordy
     
    Tough Love - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,894
    - Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
  2. Tough Love

    Tough Love 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,894

    Tough Love - Replied May 27, 2005

    [​IMG]


    thats the box that i just got again right now......
     
    Tough Love - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,894
    - Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
  3. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied May 27, 2005

    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  4. Dirty_habiT

    Dirty_habiT Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    18,054

    Dirty_habiT - Replied May 28, 2005

    Yeah you totally got nailed by a virus. And the reason: most likely because you didn't have your OS as up to date as possible. Once you get things straightened out use windowsupdate regularly... it will save you headache's like these.
     
    Dirty_habiT - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    18,054
    - Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
  5. Tough Love

    Tough Love 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,894

    Tough Love - Replied May 28, 2005

    hmmm yeah, i dont know. im not a huge computer person....my dad deals with these things, and hes not that good at it either. things seem to be working fine for what its worth. hopefully ill fix it somehow...
     
    Tough Love - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,894
    - Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
  6. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    10,259

    Poop Man Bob - Replied May 28, 2005

    It's the blaster virus. I had the same thing previously. It sucks.
     
    Poop Man Bob - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    10,259
    - Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
  7. sneak

    sneak Guest

    sneak - Replied May 28, 2005

    last summer i saw this so much i went crazy.
    anytime i saw a countdown anywhere i wanted to punch it.
     
  8. casekonly

    casekonly 12oz Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    8,264

    casekonly - Replied May 28, 2005

    casekonly - Rank: 12oz Veteran Member - Messages:
    8,264
    - Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
  9. nozaki

    nozaki 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,323

    nozaki - Replied May 28, 2005

    it's the MS blaster worm, not a virus. you need to dl a patch for it. the patch is available on microsoft.com. if you don't have enough time to dl the patch before that error comes up, then make a cd rom of the patch on a friends comp and then dl it from the cd. that shit is old news though...you should upgrade your firewall, or start using a router or something. or just buy a mac, haha.
     
    nozaki - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,323
    - Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003