1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

Netzero Highspeed

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by FourOneTwo, Jan 25, 2004.

  1. FourOneTwo

    FourOneTwo 12oz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    924

    Netzero Highspeed

    Discussion started by FourOneTwo - Jan 25, 2004

    I was wodnering if anyone has tried this, and if so if it actuially is "5x faster". Thank you in advance for reviews.
     
    FourOneTwo - Rank: 12oz Member - Messages:
    924
    - Joined:
    May 10, 2002
  2. Æ°

    Æ° 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,976

    Æ° - Replied Jan 25, 2004

    I doubt your actual connection speed is faster than any other dial up, I think they use some sort of image compression method in the software that makes it use less bandwidth and appear to run faster.
     
    Æ° - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,976
    - Joined:
    May 12, 2002
  3. i11igul

    i11igul 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,810

    i11igul - Replied Jan 25, 2004

    i have dsl, if thats in relation to cable, its pretty well too,
     
    i11igul - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,810
    - Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
  4. TuffKid

    TuffKid 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,062

    TuffKid - Replied Jan 25, 2004

     
    TuffKid - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    2,062
    - Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
  5. FourOneTwo

    FourOneTwo 12oz Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    924

    FourOneTwo - Replied Jan 25, 2004

    I want to get cable very fucking bad, but lack of money is a factor. Anyone have suggestions about a good low cost dial-up?
     
    FourOneTwo - Rank: 12oz Member - Messages:
    924
    - Joined:
    May 10, 2002
  6. Telo

    Telo 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    4,162

    Telo - Replied Jan 25, 2004

    no
     
    Telo - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    4,162
    - Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
  7. adderall

    adderall 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,921

    adderall - Replied Jan 29, 2004

    netzero absolutely sucks
     
    adderall - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,921
    - Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
  8. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied Jan 29, 2004

    i think they save a bunch of HTML or something to your hard drive. i can tell you that they hire people who can barely fucking speak english to answer the phones, and if you want real help. it costs two dollars a minute.
     
    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  9. Fugazi

    Fugazi 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,298

    Fugazi - Replied Jan 29, 2004

    What it does is saves more webpages to your computer. That way when you return to the same webpage, often it doesn't update, and you have to refresh. The apparently quick load time is just from the saved webpage. Also, images are compressed, further reducing load time. Your actual connection speed isn't changed at all; if you look at the bottom of the TV ad's it says "Downloading time will not be affected".
     
    Fugazi - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,298
    - Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001