1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

Computer help - installing a second hard drive.

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by Poop Man Bob, Aug 21, 2003.

  1. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    10,259

    Computer help - installing a second hard drive.

    Discussion started by Poop Man Bob - Aug 21, 2003

    Sooooooooooo ...

    I'm installing a second hard drive as a slave. I've got it mounted in the appropriate bracket, set to slave, etc.

    The problem comes when I try to attach the EIDE ribbon to the new drive. The connector which is supposed to attach to the slave/new drive is already attached to my ZIP drive (this connector). The other two connectors are attached to the master/old drive and the drive cage.

    If I want to install the new drive, will I have to unplug the ZIP drive connection and forgo its future use? This really isn't a problem, as I can start using CDs as an option for large-scale data storage. But I'm still interested in whether there's a way for me to use both the slave/new drive and the ZIP.

    Thanks in advance.































































    And to prevent this thread from being completely boring, here's an old picture of me:
    http://fattydave.homestead.com/files/Picture_026.jpg'>

    And a picture of me melting my face:
    [img]http://fattydave.homestead.com/files/DaveUglyGradParty.JPG'>
     
    Poop Man Bob - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    10,259
    - Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
  2. GnomeToys

    GnomeToys 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,616

    GnomeToys - Replied Aug 21, 2003

    Yes, each IDE channel can only support 2 devices. If both of your channels have 2 on them already, and you need everything, the best thing to do would be buy a cheap EIDE controller card and attach the new device to that.
     
    GnomeToys - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    2,616
    - Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
  3. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    10,259

    Poop Man Bob - Replied Aug 21, 2003

    Thanks Gnome. I think I'm just going to toss the ZIP.
     
    Poop Man Bob - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    10,259
    - Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
  4. casekonly

    casekonly 12oz Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
    Messages:
    8,264

    casekonly - Replied Aug 21, 2003

    can i have it?
     
    casekonly - Rank: 12oz Veteran Member - Messages:
    8,264
    - Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002