The Professional Advice Thread

fat ralphy

I was hoping this would be a place that we can seek professional input from one another. There are plenty of talented people here and we can use our community to help each other.

Bounce estimates around to see if costs are reasonable, help with DIY projects, real life connections if doable - basically a place to seek and share professional input or collaboration. 

For example:

@Mercer - you work as an electrician, right?

Yesterday I was upgrading the security light on my front porch. I switched off the breaker but it still seemed like I got a small  shock when I came in contact with the black wire.

Is there residual power left over even if a circuit is turned off?

0B93CC42-A0C2-4BEC-9360-7E11D14114AB.jpeg

• Props 1

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

I’m not an electrician but have done some advanced electrical work setting up the screen printing stuff. 

No, if you cut the circuit breaker, then all power is cut. For “residual” power, you’d need a battery or capacitor to store it. Wires conduct electricity but cannot store it. 

• Truth 1

Electrician here - If you're getting zapped then the circuit is definitely still live, as @misteravensaid its definitely worth getting a cheap mulitmeter to check the circuit it dead before working on it. 
Sometimes its easier/quicker to just turn off the main switch/whole house rather that tracking down the individual circuit, but always worth testing first I've worked on some sketchy houses thinking they were off but they were stealing power from the neighbours and had live cables everywhere still  

Edited by aimer
  • Truth 2
  • Props 3