NEW CAR - Buy or Lease?

KILZ FILLZ

I have a 91 Honda that runs great but I'm a mechanic and that shit smells like work. I want to keep it as a commuter and get something new for the weekends/dates. it has low milage so trading it in isn't an option. I will keep it.

A coworker recommended leasing then opting to own once the lease expires. Since the car would be mostly for the weekends the milage wouldn't be problem. The payments for a lease would be less as well. When the lease expires and I opt to own, he says I would technically become the second owner and it would become a 'used car' (?) Lower payments/insurance (?). Not sure if this is fact.

I have a good job and getting a loan at a decent rate wouldnt be an issue. However, the smaller monthly payments that come with a lease are attractive.

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.
  • Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

yeah man all depends on how u treat the car cause whatever u fuck up ull pay for, like that questionable stain in the backseat or the ding on the side when u parked at the movies and someone door checked ur shit, shit happens so think about it. also aas a mechanic what kinda whip do you reccomend thats like mid 90s reliable and is withing a 4 g budget

lease with the option to own is the move providing you wont go over your allotted miles for the year. thats where they get you. as far as cars i will NOT drive another car out of the AUDI group (audi porsche, VW) ever again other then a Subaru. 4wheel drive cars with the 4wd absorbed into the price of the car cant be beat. just my quick opinion without pontificating on the subject...