Anyone have any input about Master's degrees/Law school/etc?

En Sabah Nur

I have a Bachelor's in Sociology. It's useless.

I'm a social worker (if you've been keeping up with the Special Edition thread/blog), which is pretty different from sociology, but i can't seem to find any job that hires for sociology that isn't social work. It's a shitty job that pays nothing. I'd have been better off joining a union.

So I might want to get my Master's... but not in Sociology because I can't imagine it'd be much better. I've been out of school for a few years and I hate school and college people. And thinking about being 30+ by the time I'm done is depressing.

I'm considering the following things:

Law

Human Resources

Political Science

Urban Studies

Psychology

anyone here, uh, higher educated?

p.s. if i could do it all over again i'd have done physics. but i don't remember math anymore.

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

I know very little about studying law, but I used to work at a bookstore in a law school, and know this- tons and tons and tons and tons of reading, book prices will kick your ass, tuition will kick your ass even more with or without financial aid. I've asked a couple of the students who have been there, and they say that it's really hard to study. For the three years you'll be in law school, you would have put in a fuck load amount of work, plus you need to pass the bar etc.

ps. I'm majoring in psychology, but feel it's gonna take a while to get somewhere.

Have you considered in taking a 2 yr course at a community college? Depending on the school

they might offer some things you might be interested in, and will require little time which can

land you a pretty good paying job.

goodluck.