⊗ ✇ ⊗ ✇ ⊗ ✇ ⊗ 12oz Projectionists Union ⊗ ✇ ⊗ ✇ ⊗ ✇ ⊗

-Rage-

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

I did. When I was 17. It had it's ups n downs.....

Really liked working alone, I like being in the dark...heh.....

Could be really stressful tho, having a part of the film melt and a theater full of people being restless and cranky...while I'm trying to fix it, that sucks. One time I threaded up a machine and somehow managed to twist the film....end up without sound, and there is no way to "rewind"....joys of learning, I guess.

I'd never go back to it but I sort of wish I'd stuck with it longer, and got to know more about the mechanics of it.

I've been doing this for about eight years now and it's still fun, for the most part.

A majority of those years has also been dealt with managing as well, which is a downside. If I could I would just love to do projection only and let someone else deal with the customers.

LunchTruck pointed it out best, being alone in a booth is the best shit ever. I had one gig where that's all I did. I just spent most of my nights in the projection booth and worked on college papers and read a lot.

Even after almost eight years, I still learn new things about film and projection. There's always new tips and tricks I pick up at each theater I work at.

*edit

Oh yea, and Digital is still a long ways away from taking over every theater. Granted many of the megaplexes have numerous digital projectors and equipment, but that's only because they can afford it. The smaller independent and art house theaters can't, so for now there are still more prints that digital.

Also, digital movies (which are often sent via hard drives in cases) are easily stolen. More-so than 80l pounds of film reels.

worked as one a minute ago in fort washington maryland.. it was super ghetto