I never say "I quit"

Weapon X

But should I?

I've been smoking for about 13 years now. So many real smokers around me have said "I quit" over the years, but they always came back, save for maybe a couple. That makes them liars, no?

But I like smoking. It makes me feel nice. It looks cool, sometimes. It makes me stop gritting my teeth for a couple of minutes. And I hate those super duper cheerful health freak types that wear crappy clothes with flip flops. I'm a self destructive, depressed, irritable asshole.

However, cigarettes are expensive. I am seriously considering never having another one. But then, never is a long time, and a great dinner, or a two hour fuck fest, or a fine bottle of scotch should constitute a cigarette, right?

So should I just not say "I quit" and, instead, become a social smoker that comes out on those very rare occasions? Can that work?

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

Nope. While not uttering the actual "I Quit" statement, the once in a while cigarette will just lead to smoking as much as before. It's kind of like going from junkie to casual heroin user. I wish I could quit but even after spending months in jail without one, it doesn't take a week before I am smoking as much as before. It usually takes a few false starts before you actually quit.

My mom smoked 2 packs a day for over 40 years and it took her many tries but with cough drops, she finally did it so it can be done. Good luck.

Yeah, true that. A nice L is better than a smoke.

When I'm at work, I see all these co-workers, managers, receptionists outside, talking and laughing and having a great time, and I've grown to resent them. I have labelled them in my head as the "Cool Crew" and always want to spit on them. Fuck 'em and their smokes. I haven't had one in two days and it's kind of driving me crazy.