I think I just quit my job.

Bojangles

I've been working at a picture framing studio for almost 3 years now. Although I am 30 years old, I get treated like a child and paid like one too. Why did I keep the job so long you ask? Because the hours were super flexible and they pay was great at first...Let me explain.

when I first got hired, the payrate was $3.50 per picture framed. Pretty fair considering the guy before me could do 4-5 pictures an hour. (or so I heard.) Of course startting first off I wasn't that fast and could only do 2 an hour. No big deal...7 an hour will do until I pick up speed.

Here's where strike one comes into play:

Once I was up to speed and doing 4-5 (or more) an hour she goes "Oh...I can't afford to pay that much for labor. We'll have to set you at a flat hourly rate of 7 an hour." What the Fuck? I needed the job at the time so I kneeled down and accepted it.

Years later now I make considerable income from freelance art but decided to keep the job and work when I can because in all honesty I enjoyed the work environment and it gave me something to do. The money these days was blown on beers, gas and food. Over the last year her and I have had several go-rounds about what's expected of me versus what's feasible for my pay and my schedule.

Mind you, I'm 30. Making great freelance money and don't really need the job. I work for her now because I'd be bored otherwise and I thought I was doing her a favor so she doesn't end up with some crackhead 17 year old who steals from her.