CAREERS IN ART

BOZACK

i'm currently a freshman at a private university, and i'm a communications major/vis. arts minor. however, communications is bumming me out and i really want to pursue studio art. i mean that's basically been my passioon since i drew "pie on a windowsill" at age 2. haha anyway my parents REALLY REALLY REALLY don't want me to major in art (i'm not sure they'll even pay for that type of education); they basically think i'll starve. it's fucked up because all of my friends/family have always acknowledged mt talent & encouraged it to the fullest, but once i go off to college & start taking it seriously, i lose support from the parents.

any testimonials/ success stories i can use as motivation/points to argue to mom & pops??

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

im about to start studying a visual arts and education double degree. i figured that i can still pursue my own art, but also eek out a meagre living as an underappreciated educator. i really do want to teach though it is just a pity about all of the bullshit that you have to put up with that has nothing to do with teaching kids.

Guest Pilau Hands

to put it simply, you can pretty much sell your work to eat, or teach.

or do both.

at this point i'm looking towards getting my bfa, and then an mfa, so i'll be able to teach at a university level, should the need arise. it's a long expensive road, but my beginnings have been affordable so...

meh

if u can, talk to a department head and see if you can work out a double major, that way you can satisfy yourself and your parents and be able to be gainfully employed if need be.