Haitian Vodou

BOZACK

I live in New Orleans, and around this time of year the "voodoo" scene starts kicking it up a notch, with several ceremonies revolving around honoring the ancestors (all saint's day, etc.)

unfortunately new orleans is rotten with fake, cheesy, touristy, inauthentic "voodoo" spots. you have to do some pretty hard searching to get to the real deal.

I've been practicing Vodou (the Haitian spelling) for about 3 years now, and upon completing my college education, i plan to travel to Haiti to be initiated. I'm also considering traveling to Cuba to participate in the "scratching" ceremony to be initiated as a palero in the Mayombe tradition. Contrary to popular misconception, Vodou is a legitimate religion, and most "information" the masses have received on Vodou is actually misinformation. I plan on getting into a pretty deep discussion/explanation on our beliefs, cause i think it's important to dispell all the prejudices and misconceptions.

If you don't give a shit about any of this, it's cool. just don't waste your time telling those of us who are.

In conclusion, have any of you guys had any exposure to Vodou, Palo, Candomble, or any other afro-carib religions?

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

brief (REALLY brief) history of Vodou

part I