Green Thumbs!

dai

Yes, 'heads...it's about that time! It's my first attempt at growing indoors (tomatoes, duh!) and I was just curious if anyone experienced could tell me if I had a good set up? I have a 10 gallon terrarium, lined with tin foil and 1 insulator board. Above, I have a 65 watt Grow Bulb and a 15 watt full spectrum incandescent bulb. I kept the lamps on for an hour last night and the temperature stayed between 88-92 deg. I'm using Miracle Gro potting soil (lightly fertilized) and i'm germinating my seeds (tomatoes!) for 3 days in a wet paper towel in a dark spot. What chemicals should I use, any particular brands or anything? I know I need lots of nitrogen. Just give me some tips, anything will help. Thanks!

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

Bat Guano

Bat Guano is the secret ingredient to really plentiful plants and tomatoes full of flavor. Go to any nursery and get a box of dried bat guano. Then put a couple of teaspoons in an empty milk jug, fill with hot water, and let sit at least 24 hours. Voila...Guano Tea. Use this to water your plants. You will have kick ass tomatoes without all the harsh effects of chemical fertilizer.

Guest Stoney Blaze

you're better off with a soilless hydroponic system. However, I've had tomatoes grown in a similar setup as yours and they were'nt half bad.

Make sure to give them less light during their ripening stage.

Guest Stoney Blaze

Re: Bat Guano

Originally posted by Ken E. Bus

Bat Guano is the secret ingredient to really plentiful plants and tomatoes full of flavor. Go to any nursery and get a box of dried bat guano. Then put a couple of teaspoons in an empty milk jug, fill with hot water, and let sit at least 24 hours. Voila...Guano Tea. Use this to water your plants. You will have kick ass tomatoes without all the harsh effects of chemical fertilizer.