when did you fall in love with freights?

nocalfr8tr

The real question is why? Why do we paint on trains? For some, they just want to feel impotant within a circle of friends. To prove how much of a bad ass they are. Great. Others, they want the fame, man. They want to be in mags and see their flicks pop up on websites. Again, I say great. But for some, maybe a select few, it's something deeper. Regardless if you're from the suburbs (which I am, but the city is in my veins) or from the Slums, the feeling that comes with painting a freight, the adrenaline of entering your yard, the sounds and smells of the yard, are intoxicating. I'll be personal here, I had been doing graff for a few years before I painted freights seriously, I had a girl friend and good friends that weren't into graf. But in what was one of the worst months of my life, I lost them all. All I could do was remember the trainyard. I had done about 25 trains before all this, and i could vividly remember each train, color scheme, who painted with me, what part of the yard I painted it at. Each one was like a child. Anyways, I had never really been involved in the "scene", and still could care less, all I want is to see fresh pieces each time I'm in the yard or at a railroad crossing. I don't do this for the scene, I do it for the love I have with the entire experience of painting trains. Now, I've got too many floating around to remember them all, and it saddens me. What's worse, is that other writers are convinced it has to be a lifestyle and if you haven't painted a thousand throw-ups that you consider pieces, then you suck. It is a lifestyle for all of us or we wouldn't do it. We wouldn't dream about it. We wouldn't give up opportunities of a lifetime to remain in a place where you know trains will be forever. It's just a little different for each individual. My whole point is that I want everyone to really be honest with themselves and evaluate why you're out there. I want you to explore your posit