Sticking It To The Man (I Hope)

charliebucket

Here's how we do it on the West Side....

December 15, 2005

To The Commisioner Of The Department Of Labor Standards And Relations-

I have been working in the legal industry for almost a decade as a bike messenger with a specialty in legal support and research. Therefore, I have a high degree of experience, and as such, in November of 2003, I applied for employment a company that had lost over 70% of its staff due to a walkout and client transfer/defection by a pair of office managers who had designs on seeing to the demise of said company.

Immediately after the walkout, I was hired to be a court liaison/researcher at the rate of $15 an hour as an independent contractor through what is a scam known as NICA (http://www.nicainc.com/). I was hired by the regional manager. At the time, I addressed some reservations that I had about the company vis a vis the business practices and policies of the company in the region that I was to be working in. Being in a desperate situation and needing skilled workers to provide advertised and promised services, the regional manager made a verbal promise to the effect of, "We will NOT continue these practices, and are 100% committed to being above board with ALL employees from this point forward."

As I was (somewhat) satisfied by this statement, I agreed to go to work with them as long as I would not be subject to any of the illegal and unprofessional practices aforementioned.

In the fall of 2004, we received a message via alphanumeric pager that there would be a mandatory meeting regarding business practices of this company. When I arrived, there was an attorney from the firm of Littler Mendelson, who stated that as a result of a recent Supreme Court decision, we would be converted to regular employees per this decision, and would be granted all due rights as employees that we had be denied under the NICA program.

So, did things get better? Sadly, no, they did not.