should I buy this camera right now?

John Birch

canon a610

my current digital is like 3 years old, a fuji (please don't laugh)... I need a new one, my old is 2.0 megapixels, this one is 5.0... I know they go higher but I think this is all I need... I'm a pretty good photographer, but still am not rich enough to buy a slr ditigal ($1000+++), this has manual settings etc and gets the best reviews for its price...

I'm drinkin a 40 and need advice.. I'm also very cheap and if I get out this buying mood it might be months before I contemplate buying again...

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.
Originally posted by dobsilla+Dec 16 2005, 02:51 AM--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE (dobsilla - Dec 16 2005, 02:51 AM)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteBegin-John Birch@Dec 16 2005, 07:51 AM

ok I pulled the trigger... I couldn't wait for delivery, so I'm going to best buy tommorow to pick up. I saved $10 by ordering online...

congratulations!

[/b]

yes. good camera, no joke. swivel screen is a great invention.

http://www.cnet.com reviews, price comparisons, etc. When buying a digital camera like that, be smart and search around for good prices. If best buy is selling it for $300, i bet you can find it from a legit online store for under $250 and free shipping. Or you could actually go to a store and haggle with a manager to try to get them to throw in a free 512mb memory card or something. They might straight up say no, but they might want the business and you know they're still making profit. I have some other good camera review and price comparison sites, but i don't know them off the top of my head. If you're interested i'll find them for you tomorrow.

edit: i definitely read too fast and didn't realize you bought it already. oh well