Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

  1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at [email protected] and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

Question re: my DSL performance - help!

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by Poop Man Bob, Sep 9, 2002.

  1. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined: Nov 16, 2000 Messages: 10,259 Likes Received: 18
    I just installed DSL on my computer at my new apartment. When I try to download numerous (or even one) items at the same time (music, porn, whatever), it slows my connection with the internet CONSIDERABLY. So much so that I can't access 12 oz. or most any website.

    I had DSL for 1 1/2 years at my old place, and this was never a problem before. I could be downloading 10 songs at once and still use the internet with ease. Plus, I was sharing the connection with my roommate then .. whereas now, it all goes to one computer.

    I used the same DSL service both times, although I understand the quality of that service can vary depending on my location.

    Is there anything I can do with my computer/connection to fix the problem? Does anyone know what the problem could be?

    I'd appreciate any help ..
     
  2. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined: Nov 16, 2000 Messages: 10,259 Likes Received: 18
    A picture I took .. to provide some entertainment to the thread:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. CIPHER_one

    CIPHER_one Senior Member

    Joined: Jul 3, 2000 Messages: 2,300 Likes Received: 0
  4. iCEBERG

    iCEBERG Senior Member

    Joined: Oct 22, 2001 Messages: 2,039 Likes Received: 0
    did you do anything to your computer?

    comps a capped to only allow a certian amount of bps for an upstream or downstream transfer.

    http://www.dslreports.com/stest

    try that or try this

    http://nyc.speakeasy.net/

    itll test what your line is capable of moving at its maximum

    at the bottom of the second page it'll give you steps to see if your shits runnin straight, if not it'll tell you a few things to try

    an heres a whole forum that has to do with dsl problems, just look through that shit for a quick 15 minutes an you should find somethin

    http://www.tek-tips.com/threadminder.cfm?s...FTOKEN=50189468
     
  5. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined: Nov 16, 2000 Messages: 10,259 Likes Received: 18
    You're the fucking man. Let me check those links out and I'll report in ...
     
  6. Intangible

    Intangible 12oz Legend

    Joined: Jul 9, 2001 Messages: 17,479 Likes Received: 6
    And I would end up calling your service provider...I saw this happen to a friend of mine...he called and they helped him fix it...
     
  7. fr8lover

    fr8lover Guest

    im having problems where the connection just goes off and on for like 30 seconds or sometimes more
     
  8. Dirty_habiT

    Dirty_habiT Administrator

    Joined: Mar 8, 2001 Messages: 18,102 Likes Received: 73
    ok, so what was your connection speed?
     
  9. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined: Nov 16, 2000 Messages: 10,259 Likes Received: 18
    dslreports.com listed my download as 326 kbps (above what they called "faster") ... listed my upload as 64 kbps (which shouldn't matter, because I don't share files on any file transfer services ..)

    "Your download speed : 326952 bps, or 326 kbps.
    A 39.9 KB/sec transfer rate.
    Your upload speed : 64516 bps, or 64 kbps."

    The second page basically said everything looks good.

    More hunting .......
     
  10. iCEBERG

    iCEBERG Senior Member

    Joined: Oct 22, 2001 Messages: 2,039 Likes Received: 0
    probably inconsistancies in the lines voltage that supplies power to your modem.

    but i dunno
     
  11. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined: Nov 16, 2000 Messages: 10,259 Likes Received: 18
    I just called SBC and talked to a "technician." He had no fucking idea what he was talking about ... good lord what a dumbass. I'm going to call back in an hour and hope I don't get the same guy.

    Him: "You is probably experiencing heavy traffic on the website you were on."
    Me: "No, it's every website I visit. Not just my homepage."
    Him: 15 second silence.
    Me: "Hello?"
    Him: "Yeah, I'm still here."

    MURDER DEATH KILL.
     
  12. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined: Nov 16, 2000 Messages: 10,259 Likes Received: 18
    I had that problem with my old DSL system. Try to download the newest version of the software supporting your modem/router. It worked wonders for me.
     
  13. Ferris Bueller

    Ferris Bueller Elite Member

    Joined: Oct 25, 2000 Messages: 4,246 Likes Received: 71
    sounds like your shit is capped...

    I know mine is..

    back in the day, folks who lived in apartments around here could have a node all to themselves and end up being able to download @ 1 megabyte/sec. Crazy shit...but it definitely sounds like you have a capped download rate whereas the connection at your last place didn't.
     
  14. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined: Nov 16, 2000 Messages: 10,259 Likes Received: 18
    Even if I have the same ISP? Just different cities in the same state (Houston v. Austin)

    And can I have this removed? Will the ISP tell me it's capped if I ask that directly?

    So many questions.
     
  15. swif1

    swif1 Veteran Member

    Joined: Dec 13, 2001 Messages: 7,067 Likes Received: 29
    i think your apartment capped the speed. but i'm probably wrong. a 64kps upload? holy crap that's weak. haha
     
Top