PHOTONERDS! DARKROOM HELP!

So I "aquired" some items and have successfully put together a darkroom. I have no knowledge of developing film or making prints and after reading through some books at Barnes and Nobles I have an understanding of how to do this but naturally with teaching yourself anything you run into problems.

So I am trying to develope a roll of Tri-X 400. I'm using Kodak D-76 Developer and "Nu-Fix" Fixer. (Tri-x box says developing time is 6 minutes with D-76)

Here is what I am doing:

-Put film on reel, reel in tank.

-Pour in proper amount of developer, agitate gently for 6 minutes.

-dump developer

-pour in proper amount of Fixer.

-As I read in this book, Agitate for 30 seconds, let it sit 30 seconds and do this for 4 minutes

-dump fixer

-pour in water as stop bath, shake it like a baby for 45 seconds

-rinse film

-remove excess wetness

-hang to dry

So I tried developing three rolls of film tonight and collectively about 4.5 frames developed the rest did nothing.

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong?

This forum is supported by the 12ozProphet Shop, so go buy a shirt and help support!
This forum is brought to you by the 12ozProphet Shop.
This forum is brought to you by the 12oz Shop.

so, you're sure you're winding them on the reels correctly and no parts are touching? the chemicals are up to date? Are you working in total darkness? have you tried going a little longer with the developer? And doesn't the process go: develop, stop, fix?

my guess is that when ur reeling in ur film, the film touches eachother (which it isn't supposed to) and you should make sure when u reel it in, its going in evenly.... or maybe some light may be exposed to it... i dunno..but when i developed film, i was in a room pitch ass black... to the point where i put my hand in front of my face, and couldn't tell the difference..... sooooooo... i dunno

You need to wash it for longer than 45 seconds, leave the tap running onto the negs for like 10-15 minutes.