1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

My own copy of Murphy's Law.

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by imported_Tesseract, Mar 29, 2004.

  1. My own copy of Murphy's Law.

    Discussion started by imported_Tesseract - Mar 29, 2004

    Friends and haters,

    About a week ago i recieved a strange phonecall, it was about 2am when i saw my sisters phone number displayed on my celly as incoming...
    -Hello?
    -Hey, i'm at the computer at your house right now trying to check the lottery numbers but the computer froze...
    -Shit, try hitting alt+ctrl+del, and close internet explorer from there..
    -Aint working, theres also this emergency window here..
    -That must be the firewall, anyway hit cancel, close anything like that
    -nothing works
    -fuckit, i'll be there in half an hour..leave it as it and i'll fix it
    :)cool: *)

    And so i am, i hit alt/ctrl/del three times and the system reboots....when i get the first windows logoscreen, zaaaap...screen goes black, cpu stops...i hit the button this time, opens in safe mode everyhting seems to be working fine, i check my shit on control panel, nothing suspitious.

    I repeat the same things 10 times over cigarettes while having the stupid belief that it may just unblock it self...i become motivated to experiment on 'step by step confirmation' boot

    I do that a million times only to find out that when i boot:

    • All the first page list and
      VNETSETUP.VXD
      NDIS.VXD
      NDIS2SUP.VXD
      JAVASUP.VXD
      VFIXD.VXD
      VREDIR.VXD
      DFS.VXD
      VSERVER.VXD
      MSMOUSE.VXD

    and leave out:

    • VRTW.386
      NETBIOS.VXD
      SYMEVNT.386
      NDISWAN.VXD


    Windows load alright....that makes me capable of seing that right now half my devices have become malfucntional and for some reason they appear double in the Device Manager (cd-rom etc) on top of that, i have no network settings, the list gone almost blanc and theres no way i can get online to search for more help...time flies by...i fall asleep.

    Next day i'm introduced to the idea that i should go at my girls comp, copy those files from her windows and paste'em back to mine...as i do that, i notice that my cd drive isnt working...the light on it blings like crazy and it cant access any cd...it appears to be functioning properly on Device manager however...I say fuck it, go at my girls grab the files and manage to fix the following from the above list


    • VRTW.386 Fail
      NETBIOS.VXD Fail
      SYMEVNT.386 Fixed
      NIDISWAN.VXD Fixed


    I start to wonder if changing from norton antivirus 02' to 04' may have anything to do with the whole thing...as i'm getting really tired and annoyed...i run a virus check, and multiple tests from NU and nothing appears fucked up.
    The network is still in pieces, internet access is lost and the desicion is made...i need to backup my shit and format that miserable disk as i see this as some major software damage that occured...in my mind it connects directly with Norton for some reason.
    My only option since the cd-writer (the only cd reader in my system since the breakdown of the single cd-rom one year ago) is to take out my HD, connect it at my girls comp as a slave take out all my work files and downloaded software zips and installers...format the disk and reinstall everything...waiting for the next for that.
    alea jacta est

    So i do it, burn all those fuckers in many cd's and return backhome...as i sit infront of the notorious msdos "c:/" screen...ready to launch the format i realise that if the cd aint working i wont be able to launch the windows cd and continue..i get pissed and hit format anyway...percentages appear and its on..i enter BIOS, assign the cd drive as boot source and it works...windows are being loaded.
    The minute windows are up the cd stops working again...but i get the net to work and start dowloading/installing all my other apps...i go to my girls house and rip out her cdrom bring it here and install other shit from cd's...in theory i'm almost done but i aint got a cd-burner...an essential tool for my work.

    In the meantine, i check my economics in order to see if i can afford a new computer i wanted for so long..the answer is clear, NO...so i decide to take my last 80 euros for the weekend and go buy a new dvdrom and a cdburner..i come back install them and be set.

    I get abit hyped over my just formatted HD and i get all technical with updating everything, getting some new software to burn shit and stuff like that so i put even more work in. I call a friend and he would hook me with photoshop, illustrator and other apps that i cant work without...so i'm all done and waiting for that.
    I get em yesterday and when i install photoshop something goes wrong...i get a disk error.
    I run scandisk and find that some clusters are corrupted...after further investigations those clusters are exactly where the folder c:windowstemp is making it impossible for me to install anything new since everytime that cluster is touched, the system crushes.
    I try to make a partition within the disk so i can disable clusters 512.506 to 512.572 but i get notified that my HD is too small to be cut up like that.

    So after all these days i find my self in th exact same shit i was in the beggining..with a shitty computer i cant work on and a dozen deadlines hanging above my head..."if things can go wrong, be sure they will"

    Tesseract/Overwelmed by that sincere calmness that is usually followed by massive pet slaughters, broken electrical devices and teeth pulled out with pliers.
     
  2. Dirty_habiT

    Dirty_habiT Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    18,056

    Dirty_habiT - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    Sounds like on of those new nasty viruses. It also sounds like something *may* have fried on your motherboard. I could be very wrong though, so don't get scared. Try, if you can to update your virus scanner. Hope that helps a little.
     
    Dirty_habiT - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    18,056
    - Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
  3. imported_Tesseract - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    Virus checkers were always sharp and updated, systems scanned regulary and firewalls where up...plus there are very few virus's out there for win98...
     
  4. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    i'm curious, what kind of hard drive do you have ? hmm... i was going to say, what if you got ahold of a cheap hard drive just big enough to put an operating system on, but then you would have to reinstall programs

    how about getting a hard drive big enough to make an image of the old one, with norton ghost or whatever ?
     
    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  5. imported_Tesseract - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    Arcel, thats about my only option right now...i have a 5 year old P3/450Mhz with 512Ram and a 6GB HD and shitty intel cards....i feel so stupid for paying money to improve/fix that piece of shit...but anyway, an HD can always be used in another machine...i just want all this to end.

    PS, note that with the damaged clusters being on temp folder i cant intsall nothing..or make big transfers of data within the hardrive like making an image or shit...the solution is to buy a new HD (40GB for 65euros is my lowest shot right now) and RE:reinstall everything...:eek:
     
  6. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    you could run the disk imaging program from another hard drive.
     
    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  7. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    i meant a used hard drive, surely there's places to get one there
     
    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  8. imported_Tesseract - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    for me its only the $$$ that keeps me away;)

    arcel, yes...but i aint feeling that good on putting money to another shitty pc related device with no warrant and no knowledge over its history...the only way i'm feeling guilt-free for spending some money on this machine is the idea that i'm collecting components for the new one that will follow sooner or later
     
  9. j

    j Guest

    j - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    I hear ya.
     
  10. Poop Man Bob

    Poop Man Bob Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
    Messages:
    10,259

    Poop Man Bob - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    Ew. Just plain ew.

    I say ... kick the machine square in its nuts.
     
    Poop Man Bob - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    10,259
    - Joined:
    Nov 16, 2000
  11. imported_El Mamerro - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    Shit man, I wish I had something helpful or at least optimistic to say, but that problem really sounds like shit country. I would actively pursue purchasing of a new PC, even if it's by maxing a credit card.
     
  12. Dirty_habiT

    Dirty_habiT Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    18,056

    Dirty_habiT - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    :)

    I have HDs laying around....
     
    Dirty_habiT - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    18,056
    - Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
  13. Dick Quickwood

    Dick Quickwood 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    14,783

    Dick Quickwood - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    ok, so i got out my computer book, and it says here that you can fix them sectors by doing a "low level format", which would require a program that it says some drive manufacturers are offering
     
    Dick Quickwood - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    14,783
    - Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
  14. imported_Tesseract - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    Thanx for the support...it is a shithole indeed.
    What bugs me the most if the fuckin timing...at my worse economic status since years and 2 months before my graduation...i have so much computer work to do its ridiculous...
     
  15. imported_Tesseract - Replied Mar 29, 2004

    arcel, yeah...looks like i cant avoid another format...