First Tattoo Joint Opens In Baghdad. Here Comes The Acid Throwing.

GamblersGrin

http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=stor...iraq_tattoos_dc

Dragons, Skulls Thrill Iraq's Teen-Age Tattoo Fans

Fri Aug 27, 8:04 AM ET

By Matthew Green

BAGHDAD (Reuters) - Need a skull, a dragon or a naked woman? Descend a flight of steps to a dingy corridor and step into Baghdad's only tattoo parlor.

In a city better known for bombs than body art, a self-taught Iraqi tattoo artist is pioneering a new style of designs forbidden under ousted dictator Saddam Hussein (news - web sites).

Working with a home-made needle and architect's ink, Sarmad Shamael says his Celtic crosses, screaming eagles and death's heads are catching on among a small circle of youths.

"Now people have more freedom; people have a choice about what they do. There's no laws to restrict them," he said, speaking in his shop where pin-ups of bikini-clad models adorn the pastel pink walls.

"A lot of people ask me, 'Why are you so strange? Why are you so Westernized?' I tell them: Because I like it," said Shamael, a soft-spoken 29-year-old who began painting as a child.

For Iraqi teen-agers, the almost guilty pleasure of tattoos provide a moment's respite from life in Baghdad where car bombs can explode at any moment, militiamen run riot in the slums and the chances of finding a job are slim.

Advertised by word of mouth, Shamael's parlor has had about 100 clients since it opened after Saddam's fall in April last year, with dragons proving the most popular of the designs he copies from a well-thumbed book imported from abroad.

Himself a walking ad for his art, Shamael has drawn a lion and a dragon on his forearm, while a friend helped print the motto "I want kiss you" in English on his upper arm.

He says there's no need to worry about health risks -- he always dips his needle in antiseptic.