Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

  1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at [email protected] and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

dual cable Modems?????? HELP HEAVYLOX cause he'ed help you.

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by heavyLox, Jan 28, 2004.

  1. heavyLox

    heavyLox Veteran Member

    Joined: Feb 2, 2002 Messages: 7,196 Likes Received: 17
    I haven’t tried this yet, so I wanna ask before I waste the money. I also know there are other ways to do this, however, this will be the least obtrusive and secure.

    the question is this: Can I use two cable modems on the same Cable line at the same time. I have two Cable boxes in different rooms, and I want to be online in both of them.
    Anyone done this or have any ideas why it is or isn’t a good idea?
     
  2. test pattern

    test pattern Elite Member

    Joined: Jan 21, 2002 Messages: 3,975 Likes Received: 0
    describe your desired purpose

    do you have an extra modem lying around or something?
    or is it just curiousity?
     
  3. enueone

    enueone Member

    Joined: Sep 13, 2001 Messages: 451 Likes Received: 0
  4. anonymity1

    anonymity1 Senior Member

    Joined: Apr 28, 2003 Messages: 1,945 Likes Received: 0
    You can get them way cheaper off ebay.
     
  5. ClueTwo

    ClueTwo Veteran Member

    Joined: Nov 30, 2001 Messages: 9,016 Likes Received: 117
    This is the best answer you're going to get....
     
  6. heavyLox

    heavyLox Veteran Member

    Joined: Feb 2, 2002 Messages: 7,196 Likes Received: 17
    I have two computers in two rooms both rooms have cable TV's. One room has a cable modem.
    I want to have access to the internet in the other room as well. I dont want a wireless router or air port, I would rather just split the cable line in the other room as i did in the room that presently has internet access.

    Ive got bad walls for wireless router/airport ans i dont want to deal with firewalls and other people jumping my signal.

    and a router just adds miles of cord to an already cord heavy space. And bunnys tend to chew cords.
     
  7. anonymity1

    anonymity1 Senior Member

    Joined: Apr 28, 2003 Messages: 1,945 Likes Received: 0
    well, then it looks like you are shit outta luck.

    Are you too lazy to walk to the other room to get on the net or is there another person you are sharing the net with?
     
  8. Nekro

    Nekro Elite Member

    Joined: Feb 19, 2003 Messages: 2,568 Likes Received: 1
    Just get a non-wireless router and run an ethernet cord from your first cable modem into your other room.
     
  9. test pattern

    test pattern Elite Member

    Joined: Jan 21, 2002 Messages: 3,975 Likes Received: 0
    just split the main line, and distribute it amongst the two modems. it should work, but the speed MAY be effected. i'm not sure on that, though.

    what you're asking about should work, though.
     
  10. enueone

    enueone Member

    Joined: Sep 13, 2001 Messages: 451 Likes Received: 0
    if you password protect your wireless network no one's gonna jump on your signal..and the firewall issues are the same as you currently have, since it would be the same connection..

    the wall thing could suck but 802.11b is pretty sick...i have my airport basestation upstairs and i still get connectivity in my basement...2 flights down..

    it's either wireless...or a long ass ethernet cable...each cable modem used has a device ID and needs to be activated on your cable company's system...
     
  11. adderall

    adderall Elite Member

    Joined: Jun 10, 2003 Messages: 2,921 Likes Received: 1
    u are describing a very large waste of resources

    would you have put two modems in your computer back in the day..

    its possible to be on two networks at once but not streaming identical content through the two.. its just a matter of redundancy.. you would need some kind of special coded app to route requests through both pipes and to calculate which portions of files were downloaded already, hash them, and reassemble

    code it for the rest of us to use.. see u in a few years
     
Top