1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

dreamweaver question

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by seeking, Sep 13, 2001.

  1. seeking

    seeking Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    32,277

    dreamweaver question

    Discussion started by seeking - Sep 13, 2001

    heres my problem...

    im trying to set it up so after clicking on a splash page, you go to one of two pages depending on the browser your using. but i cant remember how to make it work. any help?
     
    seeking - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    32,277
    - Joined:
    May 25, 2000
  2. Mr.Raven

    Mr.Raven Guest

    Mr.Raven - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    This is a javascript function.
     
  3. seeking

    seeking Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    32,277

    seeking - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    ok then, let a brother know something...
     
    seeking - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    32,277
    - Joined:
    May 25, 2000
  4. avils

    avils 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,574

    avils - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    Yo, if you've got Dreamweaver 3.0 click "Window".. then hit "behaviours". You'll see a "+" sign. Hit that and then click "check browser".. define the settings you want and you're away..

    http://www.yourphotos.com/users/3485/screen.jpg'>


    scratchin what what what is it ?

    ------------------
    [img]http://www.yourphotos.com/users/3485/4elements.gif'>
     
    avils - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,574
    - Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
  5. seeking

    seeking Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    32,277

    seeking - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    i know that one, but all that deals with is loading up different pages. i need to be able have links that when clicked on, take you to two seperate places. i cant do it with tht function... thanks though...
     
    seeking - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    32,277
    - Joined:
    May 25, 2000
  6. Mr.Raven

    Mr.Raven Guest

    Mr.Raven - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <script language="JavaScript">
    <!--
    function MM_checkBrowser(NSvers,NSpass,NSnoPass,IEvers,IEpass,IEnoPass,OBpass,URL,altURL) { //v4.0
     var newURL='', verStr=navigator.appVersion, app=navigator.appName, version = parseFloat(verStr);
     if (app.indexOf('Netscape') != -1) {
      if (version >= NSvers) {if (NSpass>0) newURL=(NSpass==1)?URL:altURL;}
      else {if (NSnoPass>0) newURL=(NSnoPass==1)?URL:altURL;}
     } else if (app.indexOf('Microsoft') != -1) {
      if (version >= IEvers | | verStr.indexOf(IEvers) != -1)
       {if (IEpass>0) newURL=(IEpass==1)?URL:altURL;}
      else {if (IEnoPass>0) newURL=(IEnoPass==1)?URL:altURL;}
     } else if (OBpass>0) newURL=(OBpass==1)?URL:altURL;
     if (newURL) { window.location=unescape(newURL); document.MM_returnValue=false; }
    }
    //-->
    </script>
    </head>
    
    <body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000" onLoad="MM_checkBrowser(4.0,1,2,4.0,1,2,0,'www.url1.com','www.url2.com');return document.MM_returnValue">
    </body>
    </html>
    
    
    replace "www.url1.com" and "www.url2.com" with the url you want them to go to.
     
  7. Mr.Raven

    Mr.Raven Guest

    Mr.Raven - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    can you be more specific?
     
  8. dosoner

    dosoner 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    3,735

    dosoner - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    i belive mr. raven nailed it? i wouldnt know how to insert the script with dreamweaver though, iv only used it for like 15 mins in a graphic design class for some bullshit webpage project we had to do with it.

    sorry for the waste of space post
     
    dosoner - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,735
    - Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
  9. seeking

    seeking Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    32,277

    seeking - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    ok, heres my problem.

    after you click on the splash page, it brings up the 'home' page in a pop up window. problem is, netscape cuts off part of the bottom. to correct this, i had to change the dimensions a little bit. it looks fine in netscape now, but its not right in IE. to remedy this, i did the 'check browser' function from DW on the splash page, so it gives a different splash to netscape. easy fix. BUT as you go through the site, each page has a button for 'home.' basically, i dont want to have to make two totally different sites. there must be some way to have a sort of 'splitter' at each link. raven, what your saying would probably work, but i dont know how to plug code into DW. i just type it into thelink area, i dont know shit about code...
     
    seeking - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    32,277
    - Joined:
    May 25, 2000
  10. seeking

    seeking Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    32,277

    seeking - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    or, someone could just tell me how to remedy this netscape resizing problem.
     
    seeking - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    32,277
    - Joined:
    May 25, 2000
  11. bigpoppa.k

    bigpoppa.k 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,150

    bigpoppa.k - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    well... this fixes it a little bit.
    inside the body tag put this.
    <body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" topmargin="0" marginheight="0" leftmargin="0" marginwidth="0">
    you should be good too go. it won't be perfect but its good enough. the thing you need to know though is that I.E. and Netscape have different ways of calculating their window's frames, borders and title bars so it can get a little tricky. With netscape6 though, this has been fixed. But with netscape6 and netscape4.?, you're page is going to be freaky. Its called browser wars, and its a fuckin pain in the ass for us designers and developers trying to get this working on both. I'd be happy to give you a hand if you'd like.
    If you really want, you can block people with older browsers from seeing the site so they have to go upgrade. That way, it doesn't matter what you do, both netscape and IE will see it the same way. The draw back to that is, anyone with a browser version of IE5 and up and netscape6 and up can only view your page. But, you also have to take into account the percentages of browsers being used and on what platform they are being used on. I could go on for hours, so if you want some serious help, gimme an email. kaneone@hotmail. coolcool.
     
    bigpoppa.k - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,150
    - Joined:
    May 2, 2001
  12. bigpoppa.k

    bigpoppa.k 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,150

    bigpoppa.k - Replied Sep 14, 2001

    got yer messiage... i'll be in touch.
     
    bigpoppa.k - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,150
    - Joined:
    May 2, 2001
  13. KASTsystem

    KASTsystem 12oz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    832

    KASTsystem - Replied Sep 15, 2001

    seeking try this.

    do what avils said to do, but on a different part of your site.

    make your link to the internet explorer page. when the ie page loads up, it should have the javascript function that avils described... this way if the user is using netscape, as soon as the ie page loads, it will immediately forward to netscape...otherwise it will stay on the ie page.

    i did this for my own website.
    if you want an example, look at the source code for http://www.kastsystem.com/input.htm
    and http://www.kastsystem.com/input-net.htm
    (all of my links to the "input" page go to input.htm, but if you are using netscape, input.htm will forward to input-net.htm)
     
    KASTsystem - Rank: 12oz Member - Messages:
    832
    - Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
  14. seeking

    seeking Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    May 25, 2000
    Messages:
    32,277

    seeking - Replied Sep 15, 2001

    the problem lies in the fact that im using a pop up for the site, so the margins arent really the problem. poppa i'll email you ina sec...
     
    seeking - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    32,277
    - Joined:
    May 25, 2000