1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

Can I get some help re my internet dial up at home..

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by avils, Dec 20, 2001.

  1. avils

    avils 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,574

    Can I get some help re my internet dial up at home..

    Discussion started by avils - Dec 20, 2001

    Right, so I just bought an ACER 450mhz PC last night. It's a pretty decent system for what I need and I got it mad cheap. It's got an internal 56k modem (wasn't installed when I got it) and has been hooked up on the net before without any probs.

    So I get home and set everything up including installing the internal modem and the drivers for it. Everything is looking good so far.

    I change my IE 5.5 Connection settings to my new dial up and password. I type in an address and the modem calls the server and connects..BUT when the actual page I want to look at tries to load I get a DNS Error message "Could not open search page" ....

    ANY help would be greatly appreciated and would contribute to me being able to access the board from home and not just work..

    :mad::eek: :(
     
    avils - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,574
    - Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
  2. avils

    avils 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,574

    avils - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    Did I forget to say please ?
     
    avils - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,574
    - Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
  3. tue skinny

    tue skinny 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    4,781

    tue skinny - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    man i dont know all i know is i got cable and no need to dial up and shit. im dumb when it comes to computers
     
    tue skinny - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    4,781
    - Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
  4. khaotic970

    khaotic970 New Jack

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    18

    khaotic970 - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    me working for a isp heres what to doInvalid URL or Invalid Syntax/ Spelling
    These errors are often accompanied by an HTML Error 500 or 404. Please check the spelling and ensure you are accessing a valid URL.

    Intermittent Server problem/ web site may be down
    Please ensure you are able to view your Personalized Homepage at http://www.prodigy.net, if you are able to view your personalized homepage contact the administrator of the site you are attempting to access for additional assistance. If you are unable to view your personal web page, clear the Temporary Internet Files of your browser and try again.

    Entering web address in wrong field
    Ensure you are entering the web address in the address bar of your browser and not in the search field of a search engine:

    In Netscape:
    The address bar is sometimes called the "Location" or "Netsite" field. If you do not see this bar:
    Click on View in the menu bar. The top three selections should say Hide Navigation Toolbar, Hide Location Toolbar, Hide Personal Toolbar. If any of these selections reads Show as opposed to Hide you can click on the selection in question and it will appear.

    In Internet Explorer:
    If you are missing the address toolbar, please take the following steps to ensure that one will appear:
    Click on VIEW and scroll down to TOOLBARS
    Make sure that STANDARD BUTTONS, ADDRESS BAR, TEXT LABELS and LINKS are all checked.
    If this method does not work, it may be that your address bar and/or toolbar have become compressed. In this situation remove the check marks from all but ADDRESS BAR until it becomes visible then replace the check marks next to the other toolbars.
    NOTE: Because of the customization features of Internet Explorer it is possible for the address bar to be open yet hidden in various places in the browser interface.

    Proxies are Enabled
    Disable Proxy Settings:
    From My Computer ... Control Panel ... Internet Icon
    or
    From Internet Explorer ... Tools ... Internet Options
    1. Select the Connections tab
    2. Click LAN Settings
    3. Deselect "Use a Proxy Server"
    4. Click OK
    5. Under Dial-Up Settings, Click "Prodigy Internet"
    6. Click Settings
    7. Uncheck "Use a Proxy Server"
    8. Click OK
    9. Click APPLY
    10. Click OK

    Automatic Detection Option is corrupt (IE 5.0 +)
    For Internet Explorer 5.0 only (Disable Automatically detect settings):
    From My Computer .... Control Panel ... Internet Options Icon
    or
    From Internet Explorer ... Tools ... Internet Options
    1. Select the Connections tab
    2. Click LAN settings
    3. Deselect "Automatically Detect Settings"
    4. Click OK
    5. Click APPLY
    6. Click OK

    DNS Conflict
    Enable DNS in TCP/IP Stack (Windows 95/98):
    From My Computer .... Control Panel ... Network Icon
    1. Under Installed Network Components, Find and Click TCP/IP
    2. Click Properties
    3. Click on the DNS Configuration Tab
    4. Check the circle next to "Enable DNS"
    5. In Host Box, enter PI Username
    6. In Domain Box, enter prodigy.net
    7. In DNS Server Search Order, type in Primary and Secondary DNS (Primary: 207.115.59.241 - Secondary: 207.115.59.244)
    8. Click OK
    9. Click OK again
    Click Yes to restart computer
     
    khaotic970 - Rank: New Jack - Messages:
    18
    - Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
  5. swif1

    swif1 12oz Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    7,066

    swif1 - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    i dont know a lot about comps, but why in the heck did you buy a 400some mHz computer?

    damn, are you that broke?
     
    swif1 - Rank: 12oz Veteran Member - Messages:
    7,066
    - Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
  6. avils

    avils 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,574

    avils - Replied Dec 20, 2001


    :) Yo big ups Khaotic.. I think that may well do the trick. I'm at work now but when I get home I'ma try that first off.

    Thanks man..
    ;)
     
    avils - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,574
    - Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
  7. avils

    avils 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,574

    avils - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    eat it.. :mad:
     
    avils - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,574
    - Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
  8. khaotic970

    khaotic970 New Jack

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    18

    khaotic970 - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    and if not just get back and i will do some more research for you brother
     
    khaotic970 - Rank: New Jack - Messages:
    18
    - Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
  9. swif1

    swif1 12oz Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    7,066

    swif1 - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    i take that as a yes
     
    swif1 - Rank: 12oz Veteran Member - Messages:
    7,066
    - Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
  10. avils

    avils 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,574

    avils - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    It was a matter of working out what I would actually DO with the comp once I got it - which is basically net/porn and maybe some photshop ish.. I think a 450mhz with 132mg of RAM should handle that just fine.. and as I say, it was mad cheap.

    eat it.
     
    avils - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,574
    - Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
  11. swif1

    swif1 12oz Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    7,066

    swif1 - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    my apologies
     
    swif1 - Rank: 12oz Veteran Member - Messages:
    7,066
    - Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
  12. avils

    avils 12oz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,574

    avils - Replied Dec 20, 2001

    *retracts "eat it" statement*..

    Peeeeace:p
     
    avils - Rank: 12oz Senior Member - Messages:
    1,574
    - Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001