1. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum...
    You are currently logged out and viewing our forum as a guest which only allows limited access to our discussions, photos and other forum features. If you are a 12ozProphet Member please login to get the full experience.

    If you are not a 12ozProphet Member, please take a moment to register to gain full access to our website and all of its features. As a 12ozProphet Member you will be able to post comments, start discussions, communicate privately with other members and access members-only content. Registration is fast, simple and free, so join today and be a part of the largest and longest running Graffiti, Art, Style & Culture forum online.

    Please note, if you are a 12ozProphet Member and are locked out of your account, you can recover your account using the 'lost password' link in the login form. If you no longer have access to the email you registered with, please email us at info@12ozprophet.com and we'll help you recover your account. Welcome to the 12ozProphet Forum (and don't forget to follow @12ozprophet in Instagram)!

attn: computer savy people

Discussion in 'Channel Zero' started by kidlugz, Nov 6, 2004.

  1. kidlugz

    kidlugz Guest

    attn: computer savy people

    Discussion started by kidlugz - Nov 6, 2004

    So I've got a Linksys router and it's preventing me from using any bit torrents and from sending files over messenger. I've heard some people talk about opening certain ports through the forwarding function but it seems too complex. Is there an easy way to disable a portion of this firewall so i can get back to ganking software and music? Please help.
     
  2. Brewster Baker

    Brewster Baker 12oz Loyalist

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    13,008

    Brewster Baker - Replied Nov 6, 2004

    I us ea router and have never had that problem, try switching your internet settings
     
    Brewster Baker - Rank: 12oz Loyalist - Messages:
    13,008
    - Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
  3. sarcasm

    sarcasm 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,352

    sarcasm - Replied Nov 6, 2004

    i got the same problem with bittornado....



    go to your web browser, in the addy type: http://192.168.1.1, then put
    admin as the password (leave the name blank). go to the ___/gaming
    option, and then i dunno..i forget.... pm later, and i'll try to see what
    is needed
     
    sarcasm - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,352
    - Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
  4. spectr

    spectr Guest

    spectr - Replied Nov 6, 2004

    uhm dude yeah its not your router.......
    so you cant use bit torrent?
    well its your firewall i think, disconnect your fire wall and im me and i will help you set it up..
     
  5. Dirty_habiT

    Dirty_habiT Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    18,054

    Dirty_habiT - Replied Nov 6, 2004

    set your private ip address as the demilitarized zone.... or DMZ. That will allow all ports incoming and outgoing to communicate.
     
    Dirty_habiT - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    18,054
    - Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
  6. j

    j Guest

    j - Replied Nov 6, 2004

    DMZ :crap:
     
  7. sarcasm

    sarcasm 12oz Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,352

    sarcasm - Replied Nov 6, 2004

    that's what i was trying to remember, the DMZ
     
    sarcasm - Rank: 12oz Elite Member - Messages:
    3,352
    - Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
  8. MESTHREE

    MESTHREE Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,902

    MESTHREE - Replied Nov 6, 2004

    There isnt really any easier way i know of. I have a dlink and I had to go to the router homepage (its usually its http://192.168.1.1/ or sometimes this http://192.168.1.0/ or something like that. should be in your outer instruction books) then you have log in like someone said and manually set the ports. Setting the ports is easy enough heres something from a web page I found

    Access your Linksys Firewall Router's web admin page, according to the instructions in the manual for your router. You will probably need to enter a password. At the top of the web page there is a series of navigational links, and you want the one that says "Advanced". From there, move on to "Forwarding". Find an empty row in the form on that page, and fill in the name ("BitTorrent"), the port range (6881 to 6889), check the TCP box, and set the IP address to the one that your computer is. Check the Enable box then click the Apply button to save the changes.
     
    MESTHREE - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    2,902
    - Joined:
    Apr 11, 2000
  9. Dirty_habiT

    Dirty_habiT Dirty Dozen Crew

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    18,054

    Dirty_habiT - Replied Nov 7, 2004

    That's good advice as well. Sometimes the programs I use will use a different port every time they're going to use a connection.... and that makes it a little difficult to make port forwarding ruleset, but if you only need forwarded ports for two or three things, or more, you shouldn't have any problems doing what Mes said.... I'm lazy, I just like to set the DMZ host to my IP.
     
    Dirty_habiT - Rank: Dirty Dozen Crew - Messages:
    18,054
    - Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
  10. Kr430n5_666

    Kr430n5_666 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,229

    Kr430n5_666 - Replied Nov 7, 2004

    I couldn't care less
     
    Kr430n5_666 - Rank: Banned - Messages:
    19,229
    - Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
  11. Frate_Raper

    Frate_Raper 12oz Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,973

    Frate_Raper - Replied Nov 7, 2004

    you should prolly email me and laugh at faggots and homos....................tardcrew@graffiti.net.





    faggothomo
     
    Frate_Raper - Rank: 12oz Veteran Member - Messages:
    7,973
    - Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
  12. FunktionOne

    FunktionOne 12oz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
    Messages:
    589

    FunktionOne - Replied Nov 7, 2004

    Just put a FLux Capacitor in there.. this guy said there rad..

    [​IMG]

    That should fix your problem
     
    FunktionOne - Rank: 12oz Member - Messages:
    589
    - Joined:
    Jun 30, 2000
  13. kidlugz

    kidlugz Guest

    kidlugz - Replied Nov 7, 2004

    thanks all!! I'm back in business.
     
  14. Kr430n5_666

    Kr430n5_666 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,229

    Kr430n5_666 - Replied Nov 8, 2004

    [​IMG]
     
    Kr430n5_666 - Rank: Banned - Messages:
    19,229
    - Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004